Eat more vegetables and less animal protein

For this Beauty Detox assignment I found it hard to write about only one of Kimberly Snyder’s Detox principles as all of them have revolutionized my health and my diet. The topic I chose to write about is ‘eat more vegetables and less animal protein’.

IMG_20140819_173027~2

Fall veggie harvest

IMG_20140818_122815

Simply delicious salad

For me this was easy as I do not like handling raw meat, it is the least appetizing kitchen prep for me. I find I am more creative and passionate when I am challenging myself to do a deliciously veggie filled salad or meal.

IMG_20140412_161041

romain lettuce, homemade kraut, sprouts and strawberries

I used to enjoy the art of painting and since having children my ‘me’ time is almost non existent. So I take it where I can. Since discovering BDS I have quite happily added more veggies to my meals or as the whole meal and the time I get in the kitchen is for me.

IMG_20140820_174042

Lightly sauteed beets leaves with zucchini and beans with fresh dill, garden goodness at it’s finest

I have found through adding more veggies that I thoroughly enjoy making my meals look like art pieces, it just seems to flow out of me making my head spin in joy.

IMG_20140821_172247

You can use anything to complement a dish aesthetically, this is the lid from my vegetable steamer

IMG_20140821_173406~2

A vegan taco butterfly

I always enjoy starting my meals with a huge salad and have gotten the kids in to the habit as well. Seeing the love and knowledge they have acquired since adding this principle in to our diet has done wonders in all areas of our health. Each family member has their own unique issues in health but by sticking to mainly vegetables at each meal it addresses them all.

IMG_20140822_123809~2

left over taco salad with humus

Leave a comment