Happy tummies = happy kids

Green smoothies have become my all time favorite breakfast! Before green smoothies were introduced to me, I wouldn’t eat anything till lunch. I have never been much of a morning eater and I know that not eating in the morning robs me of my energy for the day.

It has been just over 2 years since I was introduced to the idea of drinking my greens for breakfast from Author and clinical nutritionist (CN) Kimberly Snyder and her book The Beauty Detox Solution. Since then I have involved my children in all my smoothie and juicing undertakings.

Creating a recipe for them helps them to feel important as to their specific wants and needs. I will definitely blog more on that another time. That is for winter months because right now is harvest time and there is too much in season to stick to the same old. So lets make fun with it.

It had been a couple of days since our last smoothie and my 5yr old daughter came up to me saying “my tummy feels sick, I need a green smoothie” so off we went to the garden and chose a few items and scoured the fridge for the rest. Having her help create the face and choose ingredients always makes it more fun. I will chop the fruit and vegetables while she puts them in the blender. Because of this she asks for smoothies instead of being told to drink it.

IMG_20140805_110435

Green Smoothie Ingredients

Ingredients from the garden include:

Kale

green leaf lettuce

tomato

2 cucumbers

5 sage leaves (scarlette pineapple)

Other ingredients:

1 lemon

1 apple

1 peach

1 avocado

1 banana

Make sure the store bought ingredients are organic. I added between 500-750 ml of fresh water, then blend and serve. With this recipe my blender was bursting at the seams, it usually is when you try to fit 4 servings in one!

Once the smoothie was in my daughters belly she said it felt better.

Making smoothies with the children is fun and simple, getting them involved with the ingredients creates a life long bond to knowledge of food which is so important to pass on at these young ages. Now more than ever we need to take control of the food that is fed to our children, keeping them involved in the kitchen will insure love is provided in their relationship with food.

IMG_20140805_110340

That is one happy smoothie!

IMG_20140805_112156

Our abundance made with love

Leave a comment