Blueberry Spirulina Power Protein Smoothie

                                

IMG_20140807_083935

Blueberry Spirulina Power Protein Smoothie

Doing these blogging assignments with The Beauty Detox has really sparked something inside me about writing and food that I didn’t know was there. I find an energy ignites every time I think about creating and captioning healthy, healing, whole fresh foods.

With the last assignment I mentioned how my kids were not fond of the taste of Nori wraps. To my surprise when I finished the recipe they asked for some and loved it. My son even asked if we could have it for desert after supper that night (he prefers savory to sweet). I even had the post up the other day and my son saw a picture and asked if we could have it for lunch. It really excites me when the kids want to get involved in the kitchen with these new ways of looking at and making food.

So when this weeks #beautydetoxrecipe came out I was excited to incorporate spirulina into a smoothie as I find it has too strong of a taste on it’s own but digests really well for me and gives me such lasting energy. It is also a good way to get it into the kids diets without straining my brain trying to find ways to incorporate it.

Because all my smoothies are shared with my children I made the recipe without the protein mix, served them their share then added a serving of protein powder and blended my serving.

Recipe:

750ml Original Unsweetened rice milk

1 Serving of Sunwarrior chocolate protein powder (raw sprouted from brown rice)

1-2 Tbsp Spirulina powder (Nature’s Sunshine brand)

2 shots of fresh organic frozen wheat grass juice 

2 cups of fresh organic blueberries (these ones are from Sioux lookout, Ontario Canada)

1-2 lg. organic frozen ripe bananas

Put everything in a blender and enjoy! This recipe is enough to feed 3 hungry children and 1 hungry mama. I really enjoy a recipe like this for breakfast as I find the combo of wheat grass and spirulina gives me energy to really power through a busy morning.

I am learning how to blog like a herd of turtles and finally found out how to add extra photos and look forward to posting a lot more pics in the future. Cheers!

IMG_20140807_084340

Leave a comment