Nori Veggie Wraps with Sundried Tomato Asian dipping sauce

IMG_20140808_130410

For this #beautydetoxrecipe I had made an earlier attempt at it and found out later I had missed one of the rules. So I am re-posting a different recipe that is completely plant based and follows the guidelines.

I really enjoy the taste of Nori wraps and usually have a stack of them on hand. My kids are not too fond of them so they are usually a side dish for my husband and I. Slowly I have been introducing them into the children’s diet so I am always trying different flavors to help meet their taste buds expectations.

With this recipe I knew I would like it, but I was very skeptical about the kids. The baby obviously didn’t have any other than picking at the cucumbers and carrots. My oldest though loved it and wanted more. So I was one happy mama.

For this recipe I used what I had on hand and adapted another recipe for the dipping sauce.

Dipping sauce:

10-13 sm sun dried tomatoes (or 2-3 lg)

1/2 of a roasted onion

1 fresh garlic clove

1/2 cucumber

1 Tbsp Apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp of water

1/4 tsp honey

1/4 tsp sesame oil

2 Tbsp roasted sesame seeds

Himalayan pink salt and black pepper to taste

Wrap:

4 Nori sheets

Filling:

Carrots sliced thin

Cucumber sliced thin

6 pitted Kalamata olives sliced thin

Fermented Cabbage

For dipping sauce, roast sesame seeds in a dry frying pan on the stove till slightly browned, next add the rest of the ingredients in a blender. It should be fairly thick. Once blended add sesame seeds and mix well. Place in a container in the fridge till time to serve. 

Now grab a nori sheet and place on a rolling mat and line wrap with fermented cabbage, sliced veggies and kalamata olives. Roll tightly, having the cabbage in there will make it very messy. Slice roll in half or smaller, take dip out of fridge and serve. Since the dipping sauce is so thick you can use a spoon to serve. This recipe is enough for 4 Nori sheets.

This assignment was fun and helped my son to enjoy Nori wraps that much more.

IMG_20140808_125559

Home made sun dried tomatoes preserved in organic extra virgin olive oil

Leave a comment