kid, garden and BD inspired spring rolls

When this weeks assignment came out for the #beautydetoxrecipe I was excited to see that it was spring rolls. I love them, my kids and husband love them and they are always welcomed in our home. It has been quite a while since we did rice rolls here so the excitement was on.

I live about 20 minutes from the nearest health food store and only go in to town with a list in hand and an afternoon of errands to run. This particular week has been hot and busy so when I did my trip in to town I did not notice that I forgot my rice wraps.

Getting home and realizing this I knew that there was no way I would make it back to town before this weeks assignment was due. I do have Nori wraps but the kids are not too fond of them unless it’s sushi. So I challenged myself to get creative with what I had while keeping it BD friendly and kid approved. Which is what I am doing with most meals around here.

I have a garden that I am able to harvest from so that is where I started. My lettuce and kale are too long and thin to wrap much in so I went on to my next option, sage. Could I use it? Could I really pull it off? According to my kids and husband I did. I call them sagealicious summer rolls.

Filling:

4 boiled eggs

1 Tbsp veganaise

1 Tbsp stone ground mustard

chives minced

garlic clove minced

purple onion minced

celery chopped small

paprika

salt & pepper

Wrap:

fresh sage leaves

Add on’s:

carrots thinly sliced

cucumber thinly slice

purple onion thinly sliced

pitted kalamata olives

In a large bowl mix filling ingredients till well mixed, seasoning to taste. Next arrange sage leaves with a small dollop of filling then hold together using a tooth pick. Arrange add on’s in a fun way so the kids can pick and choose as they desire and enjoy! 

This recipe was enough for 2 kids and a grown adult. With the sage leaves being so small they were a bit finicky to work with but made an excellent afternoon snack to keep us refreshed and full of energy.

We are no strangers to flavor here especially since I first started following Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Solution. This one I gotta say was a big winner around here for being a bit out there.

Leave a comment